Home > Indoor Climbing

Breaking News: Sport Climbing Officially in Paris 2024 Olympics

The number of climbers participating will jump from 40 to 68

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) has announced that Sport Climbing has been included on the sports program of the Olympic Games Paris 2024.

Canadians Alannah Yip and Sean McColl are the two Canadians heading to Tokyo next summer for the Olympics. Many Canadian climbers have shown interest in the Paris Olympics. We recently spoke to Paige Boklaschuk, who talked about working towards the 2024 Games; read the interview here.

Below is a list of all climbers heading to the Tokyo Games.

A press release from the IFSC said: “The decision marks a high watermark in the history of the International Federation of Sport Climbing (IFSC), following on from the sport’s inclusion at the Youth Olympic Games Buenos Aires 2018 and coming just eight months before its highly anticipated debut at the Games of the XXXII Olympiad in Tokyo (JPN).”

The IOC agreed to add Boulder and Lead, and Speed events, which brings the total number of medal events for Sport Climbing at Paris 2024 up to four. The number of participating athletes will grow to 68 for Paris 2024, an increase from the 40 at Tokyo 2020 next August.

“We are grateful to the IOC Executive Board for confirming our inclusion in the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris,” said IFSC President Marco Scolaris.

“We would also like to thank the Paris 2024 Organising Committee for their constant support. On the IFSC side, this is the result of the hard work done in the last year by those who believed in the dream: the IFSC Executive Board, National Federations, athletes, officials and staff. We are going through the toughest time in our history due to COVID-19, but we have four intense and challenging years ahead of us. We are inspired and motivated. Being climbers, the harder thechallenge we face, the better we perform.”


Viktoriia Meshkova (RUS)
Miho Nonaka (JPN)
Janja Garnbret (SLO)
Akiyo Noguchi (JPN)[20] Shauna Coxsey (GBR)
Aleksandra Mirosław (POL)
Petra Klingler (SUI)
Brooke Raboutou (USA)
Jessica Pilz (AUT)
Julia Chanourdie (FRA)
Mia Krampl (SLO)
Iuliia Kaplina (RUS)
Kyra Condie (USA)
Laura Rogora (ITA)
Song Yiling (CHN)
Alannah Yip (CAN)
Anouck Jaubert (FRA)


Kai Harada (JPN)
Tomoa Narasaki (JPN)
Jakob Schubert (AUT)
Rishat Khaibullin (KAZ)
Mickaël Mawem (FRA)
Alex Megos (GER)
Ludovico Fossali (ITA)
Sean McColl (CAN)
Adam Ondra (CZE)
Bassa Mawem (FRA)
Aleksei Rubstov (RUS)
Jan Hojer (GER)
Pan Yufei (CHN)
Alberto Ginés López (ESP)
Nathaniel Coleman (USA)
Colin Duffy (USA)
Michael Piccolruaz (ITA)