Home > Indoor Climbing

Canadians Head to Last World Cup of the Year

Sean McColl and Alannah Yip will be competing this weekend in Japan

The busy World Cup season has finally reached its grand finale after months of exciting competitions. The only Canadians competing in Inzai, Japan, this weekend are Sean McColl and Alannah Yip.

McColl, who withdrew from finals in Xiamen due to possible injury, has also consistently found a spot in the top eight at each event and has a chance to claim a spot on the overall podium.

Not only is this the final chance for athletes to work their way up the season’s overall rankings, but it is also the last opportunity to earn an invitation to the IFSC Combined Olympic Qualifier in Toulouse this November.

View this post on Instagram

Headed to Inzai, Japan for the last World Cup of 2019. I had to withdraw from Xiamen as a precaution but I climbed yesterday and all signs point to GO ✅ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ Photo from Chamonix after cutting my feet to re-adjust. What goes through your mind when your feet cut? 🧐 ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ 🎞 by: @thecircuitclimbing ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀ @adidasterrex | @scarpana | @joerockheads | @verticalartclimbing | @flashedclimbing | @perfect_descent | @CANFund | @visaca #verticalart #CANFund #VisaAmbassador #climbing #train #canada #instagood #picoftheday #photooftheday #athlete #igers #amazing #sports #fitspo #gymlife #power #fitfam #adventure #fitness #work #workhard #workout #strength #challenge #follow #ninja #gym #fun #business

A post shared by Sean McColl (@mccollsean) on

For the men, the overall season champion has already been determined. After another win in Xiamen, Adam Ondra has secured his spot on the final podium, however, he is not planning on attending the competition in Japan, instead choosing the rest and prepare for Toulouse.

Korea’s Chaehyun Seo, 15, seems to have come out of nowhere to completely overtake the competition and win a total of four gold medals and one silver so far this season. As the athlete with the most wins in the women’s division, her hold on the coveted lead season champion title is undisputed. For a list of starters visit here.