Home > Indoor Climbing

Watch the Second World Cup of 2023 This Weekend

The event in Seoul, South Korea will see some of Canada and the United States' top talent vie for gold

Photo by: Dimitris Tosidis/IFSC

After an awesome Boulder event last weekend in Hachioji, Japan, the IFSC World Cup tour moves to Seoul, South Korea this weekend from April 28 to 30 (local time). This World Cup stop will feature both a Speed and Boulder event. Speed qualifiers and finals will be held on Day 1, Boulder qualifiers will be held on Day 2, and Boulder semi-finals and finals will be held on Day 3.

Many of Canada’s top comp climbers will be competing in bouldering including Alannah Yip and the Baudrand brothers. Brooke Raboutou, last weekend’s Boulder gold medalist, is also expected to compete. Here are the Canadian and American athletes registered to compete in the Boulder event:

Women

  • Alannah Yip (CAN)
  • Indiana Chapman (CAN)
  • Babette Roy (CAN)
  • Madison Fischer (CAN)
  • Natalia Grossman (USA)
  • Brooke Raboutou (USA)
  • Anastasia Sanders (USA)
  • Kyra Condie (USA)
  • Kylie Cullen (USA)
  • Cloe Coscoy (USA)

Men

  • Guy McNamee (CAN)
  • Oscar Baudrand (CAN)
  • Victor Baudrand (CAN)
  • Colin Duffy (USA)
  • Sean Bailey (USA)
  • Zach Galla (USA)
  • Dillon Countryman (USA)
  • Jesse Grupper (USA)
  • Ross Fulkerson (USA)

The Speed qualifiers and finals and the Boulder semi-finals and finals will be livestreamed on the IFSC’s Youtube Channel. The YouTube livestream schedule is listed below:

Speed Qualifiers – Thursday April 27 – 11:15pm EDT (8:15pm PDT)
Speed Finals
– Friday April 28 – 7am EDT (4pm PDT)
Boulder Semi Finals
– Saturday April 29 – 10pm EDT (7pm PDT)
Men’s Boulder Finals – Sunday April 30 – 5am EDT (2am PDT)
Women’s Boulder Finals – Sunday April 30 – 6:30am EDT (3:30am PDT)

Will Raboutou win gold two world cups in a row? Will a Canadian make it through to the semis or finals? We’ll be covering the results so be sure to check back in to Gripped Indoor Climbing for the latest news.

Semi-Finals

Finals

Check out the latest buyer's guide:

The Best Climbing Gear According to Our Editors – June

Every month we're bringing you our favourite gear so you can complete your climbing kit with the latest and best stuff out there
Lead photo: Dimitris Tosidis/IFSC