Home > Indoor Climbing

Winners of Canada’s Bouldering Provincials 2019

The champions were crowned as comp seasons transitions into lead and speed

The provincial bouldering champions for 2019 have been crowned. A number of local events took place with bouldering provincials wrapping up the season. The lead and speed season starts in the new year.


The Ontario provincials took place at Up the Bloc with Riley Galloway finishing in first, Justine McCarney in second and Madison Fischer in third. For the men, Dylan Saffery took home gold, followed by Ville Tiukuvaara and Sam Tiukuvaara.


The Quebec provincials took place at Bloc Shop on Nov. 23. Veronique Gosselin won gold, followed by Audrey Larochelle in second and Babette Roy in third. For men, Alex Fricker won gold, David Trudeau got silver and Seb Lazure finished with bronze.

View this post on Instagram

Whaaaaaaat just happened!? So so so psyched to have managed to clinch the provincial title last weekend! I had one of those few comps where everything seems to click and everything falls into place when it matters most. It stings a bit to have my season end here when things have been going so well but it also feels great to end it on such a high note. Hopefully I’ll still be able to get a few more sessions in to prep the fingers and build some power endurance for bishop before finals hit!🤞🏻 • Huge shoutout to @david__trudeau and @seblazure for rounding out the podium. Also wanted to give a massive thank you to my coaches and teammates for keeping me motivated and being super flexible with training when I fall off the face of the earth for 2 weeks to study for midterms 😬 • • • 📸: @newbeeonthebloc @sattvaclimbing @allezupmtl @onwardup_campus @petzl_official #sattvaclimbing #sattvaclimbingathlete #sendandinspire #allezup #teamallezup #bouldering #competition #climbing #tryinghard #training

A post shared by Alex Fricker (@alex_fricker) on


The B.C. provincials took place at The Hive with Guy McNamee taking home gold in Open. Behind him was Brennan Doyle and Ivan Luo. For women, Sophie Buitendyk took first place followed by Sonya Colliander and Hannah Block.


The Alberta provincials went down at the CCC Chinook with a number of veteran climbers on the starting list. In first was Marc Eveleigh, followed by Mark Derksen and Ethan Pitcher. For the women, Paige Boklaschuk took gold, followed by Alyssa Weber and Elise Sethna.