Home > International

Dave Graham Sends La Rambla 5.15a in Spain

Dave Graham has sent La Rambla 5.15a in Siurana, Spain, which is one of the hardest routes he’s climbed. The other 5.15a routes that Graham has climbed are Thor’s Hammer, Biographie and Coup de Brace (which he made the first ascent of in 2005).

Graham was projecting the route with Alizee Dufraisse, who is also close bagging this mega-classic line which rose to fame after Margo Hayes’s 2017 send. In February, Piotr Schab made a quick ascent and photographer Pablo Benedito was there to snap some shots of Graham, go follow Pablo below for some great shots.

Graham has been repeating and establishing classic routes and boulders for nearly two decades. In 2005, he made the first ascent of The Story of Two Worlds in Switzlerland at V15. Graham visited Spain last year and projected La Capella 5.15b, which he might have his sights on for this trip. He said last year, “I’ve always been inspired by a number of lines here in Siurana since my first visit in 2003.”

? Huge congrats to David (@dave_graham_) who yesterday clipped one of his hardest chains: La Rambla (9a+) in the Spanish climbing mecca of Siurana!! ?? It happened that I was at the right place while shooting my friend @piotr_schab who recently did an impressively fast ascent of this route while Dave and Alizée were also trying the route, so I had the chance to meet such inspiring and strong climbers! All I can say is that Dave is one of the most fanatic climbers I've ever met, always chatting at the crag about moves, holes and conditions!! Good job man, a very big pleasure to meet you and to share some moments with you at the heights! Already wondering about your new projects! ??Now is you turn @alizee_dufraisse!!! ?? . #siurana #rockclimbing #sportclimbing #larambla #9a+ #weareisland

A post shared by Pablo Benedito Photography (@pablo_benedito) on

La Rambla Sends

Ramón Julián Puigblanque in 2003
Edu Marín Garcia in 2006
Chris Sharma in 2006 – a day after Edu Marín
Andreas Bindhammer in 2007
Patxi Usobiaga in 2007 – after nine tries
Adam Ondra in 2008 – after five tries
Enzo Oddo in 2011
Sachi Amma in 2012
Felix Neumärker in 2013
Sangwon Son in 2013
Alexander Megos in 2013 – on his second attempt
Daniel Jung in 2014
Jonathan Siegrist in 2015
Matty Hong in 2017
Margo Hayes in 2017 – making her the first woman to climb a confirmed 9a+ (5.15a)
Stefano Ghisolfi in 2017
Jacopo Larcher in 2017 – a day after Stefano Ghisolfi
Klemen Becan in 2017
Tomás Ravanal in 2018
Jon Cardwell in 2018
Piotr Schab in 2019
Dave Graham in 2019

Watch Cardwell Send