Home > News

Mason Earle Sends Cobra Crack in Squamish

Mason Earle has made the 11th ascent of Cobra Crack 5.14b, the steep and thin crack is found at the Cirque of the Uncrackables on the back side of The Chief.

The first ascent was in the 1980s by Peter Croft who aid climbed it. The first free ascent was a project for a number of climbers until Sonnie Trotter sent it in 2006.

Two years later, Nicolas Favresse and Ethan Pringle repeated it. The beta for the crux changed at some point over the years when when heel hook beta was discovered.

See below for the full list of Cobra Crack ascents. At the base of the route is a plaque signed by everyone who has ticked it. Watch Trotter on the first ascent below.

Cobra Crack Sends
2006 – Sonnie Trotter (Canada)
2008 – Nicolas Favresse (Belgium)
2008 – Ethan Pringle (USA)
2008 – Matt Segal (USA)
2009 – Will Stanhope (Canada)
2009 – Yuji Hirayama (Japan)
2011 – Alex Honnold (USA)
2013 – Pete Whittaker (UK)
2013 – Tom Randall (UK)
2016 – Ben Harnden (Canada)
2017 – Mason Earle (USA)