Home > Events

Nominations Open for Banff Mountain Summit of Excellence Award

Presented at the Banff Mountain Film and Book Festival since 1987, the annual Summit of Excellence Award has recognized an individual who has made a significant contribution to mountain life in the Canadian Rockies. The 2016 Summit of Excellence Award will be presented to the most deserving individual, nominated by the general public and determined by our panel of judges, who has made a significant contribution to mountaineering in Canada.

The award is presented in memory of Calgary climber Bill March, an internationally respected mountaineer, author, and educator, who led Canada’s first successful Everest climb in 1982.

Summit of Excellence
Previous winners Bernadette McDonald, Pierre Lemire and Ben Gadd.

The Banff Centre also announced the launch of their 2016 film competition here and accepting applications for the 2016 Banff Adventure Filmmakers’ Workshop.

“We decided it was important to recognize the amazing work done by those in mountain communities all across Canada, not just within the Rockies range,” said Deb Smythe, Festival Director of the Banff Mountain Film and Book Festival. “We are truly excited to learn more about the rich history and contribution those individuals have made and to celebrate their commitment to the betterment of mountain communities.”

This year’s award will be presented on Sunday, November 6, 2016, the closing night of the Banff Mountain Film and Book Festival.For more info and to nominate someone visit here.

Previous Winners: Pierre Lemire (2015), Urs Kallen (2014), Ben Gadd (2013), Geoff Powter (2012), Philippe Delesalle (2011), Peter Fuhrmann (2010), Sid Marty (2009), Don Vockeroth (2008), Bernadette McDonald (2007), Gill and Tony Daffern (2006), Glen Boles (2005), Craig Richards (2004), Willi Pfisterer (2003), Barry Blanchard (2002), Bob Sandford (2001), Chic Scott (2000), Guy Lacelle (1999), John Martin (1998), Sharon Wood (1997), Tim Auger (1996), Brian Greenwood (1995), Kiwi Gallagher (1994), Roger Vernon (1993), Jon Whyte (1992), Don Forest (1991), Pat Morrow (1990), Hans Gmoser (1989), Jim Davies (1988), and Bruno Engler (1987).

Check out the latest buyer's guide:

The Top May Long Weekend Sales on Camping Gear

Have a safe and fun time when out in the wilderness this season