Home > International

Mugs Stump Award Winners

The 2015 Mugs Stump Award winners were announced recently. An amazing 11 trips are being assisted by the award.

mugsThe Mugs Stump Award is a collaborative effort by a number of American-based companies and was created in the memory of Mugs Stump, one of North America’s great alpinists. In their nearly 25 years, they have donated over $400,000 to a number of expeditions. This year, $38,500 will be divided between the 11 trips.

2015 Mugs Stump Awards:

Chris Thomas and Rick Vance will fly into the remote Revelation Mountains in Alaska. In 2014, a Canadian expedition sponsored by the John Lauchlan Award made a number of first ascents.

Elliot Gaddy, Bayard Russell and Michael Wejchert will make their second attempt on the unclimbed south face of Alaska’s Mount Deborah. Few know that the East Ridge of Deborah was climbed by Dave Cheesmond and is one of the finest alpine climbs in America.

Doug Chabot, Steve Su and Rusty Willis will return to the Karakoram Shispare Sar in the Hunza Region of Pakistan.

Kyle Dempster and Scott Adamson will spend more than three months in the Karakoram attempting Latok I and Ogre II in the Charakusa Valley of Pakistan.

Will Mayo, Josh Wharton and Stanislav Vrba will also attempt the North Face of Ogre II.

The John Lauchlan Awards

Mike Libecki will be making his ninth trip to the east coast of Greenland. On his last trip he discovered unclimbed towers up to 1,400 metres. He and Etan Pringle will be heading in this summer.

Jewell Lund and Angela Van Wiemeersch are going to attempt Svarog and Main Parus in the Ashat Gorge of Kyrgyzstan.

Colin Haley and Ueli Steck are going to attempt a pure alpine-style push on the infamous South Pillar of Nuptse East. In the fall of 2014, Canadians Jason Kruk and Ian Welsted attempted Nuptse, but only made it to 6,500 metre.

Scott Bennett, Graham Zimmerman, Mark Richey and Steve Swenson will attempt the unclimbed central summit of the K6 massif, K6 Central, in the Nangma Valley of Pakistan. In 2013, Canadians Raphael Slawinski and Ian Welsted made the first ascent of K6 West and won the Piolets d’Or.

K6 West

Anne Gilbert Chase and Jason Thompson will attempt Hathi Parbat in the Garhwal Himalaya of India.

Justin Griffin and Skiy DeTray will attempt the south face of Ngadi Chuli, south of Manaslu. The face rises nearly 2,700 metres from valley floor.

The Ogre is on the right and The Ogre II is on the left  Photo Hayden Kennedy
The Ogre is on the right and The Ogre II is on the left
Photo Hayden Kennedy

Source: Mugs Stump Award, Alpinist, Black Diamond

Check out the latest buyer's guide:

Helmets Can Save Your Life

Safety and performance go hand-in-hand with these climbing helmet picks