Home > Indoor Climbing

Japan and France Take Gold at Boulder World Cup in Seoul

Miho Nonaka won her second-ever World Cup, Mejdi Schalck his third

Photo by: Dimitris Tosidis/IFSC

The weekend’s Boulder World Cup event in Seoul, South Korea was a bit of an odd one. Rainy conditions forced event organizers to cancel the final round, leaving the semi-final results to determine podium rankings. The semi-finals served up a tough series of problems in both Men’s and Women’s events.

In Women’s, Miho Nonaka of Japan earned gold. It was the Olympic silver medalist’s second-ever gold at a World Cup event, her first being in 2018. She came in first in Seoul after topping two problems and reaching zone three times. France’s Oriane Bertone took second place after reaching two tops and two zones. Brooke Raboutou, who won her first-ever World Cup gold last weekend in Japan, came in third, matching Bertone in tops and zones but taking more attempts to do so.

In the Men’s Boulder event, Mejdi Schalck of France won gold for the second World Cup competition in a row. The 18-year-old narrowly edged out Japan’s Tomoa Narasaki, besting him only in number of attempts – both climbers achieved two tops and three zones. Local climber Jongwon Chon took third place with two tops and two zones.

No Canadian made it past the qualifying round. In the qualifiers, Oscar Baudrand came in 36th, his brother Victor placed 51st, and Guy McNamee placed 69th. Madison Fischer came in 25th, Alannah Yip placed 51st, Indiana Chapman 55th, and Babette Roy 57th. The next Boulder World Cup event will be held in Salt Lake City, Utah from May 19 to 21.

Women’s Results

  1. Miho Nonaka (2T3Z 20 22) [Japan]
  2. Oriane Bertone (2T2Z 4 3) [France]
  3. Brooke Raboutou (2T2Z 10 7) [USA]
  4. Anon Matsufuji (1T3Z 4 15) [Japan]
  5. Anastasia Sanders (1T3Z 5 23) [USA]
  6. Ayala Kerem (1T2Z 6 9) [Israel]

Men’s Results

  1. Mejdi Schalck (2T3Z 2 7) [France]
  2. Tomoa Narasaki (2T3Z 6 10) [Japan]
  3. Jongwon Chon (2T2Z 2 2) [South Korea]
  4. Dohyun Lee (1T2Z 1 9) [South Korea]
  5. Manuel Cornu (1T2Z 4 5) [France]
  6. Micolai Uznik (1T1Z 2 2) [Austria]

Lead photo: Dimitris Tosidis/IFSC