Home > Comps

British Bouldering Competitions are Back

On September 26, Britain will return to Bouldering Competitions with the British Bouldering Cup. The live-streamed event will cover both the semi-final and final rounds.

These last months have seen more competition cancellations than operating events, but British Bouldering is back on September 26.

Serious Climbing, a UK-based hold distributor, is hosting the British Climbing Cup Championships at the newest competition wall in the country, Rock City.

The wall itself was designed and built by the Head Routesetter for the Olympics, Percy Bishton. Bishton and a crack team of routesetters from across the country have built a series of boulder problems for 40 of Britain’s best boulderers.

According to the event’s site the competition should be stout. Their publication said, “It’s set to be a closely fought battle with some of the biggest names in British climbing competing. The women’s field is packed full of big names including 2019 British Bouldering Champion Holly Toothill, and young guns Louise Flockhart and Pippa Watkin. The men’s competition is equally stacked with multiple time British Champion Dave Barrans, internet superstar Louis Parkinson and European Youth Champion Toby Roberts.”

The event will not only represent the first example of a British bouldering competition since March, but will also give athletes the opportunity to walk away with a huge prize fund. The event will feature IFSC commentator Mike Langley and TeamGB coach, Leah Crane.

Advertisement

The live-stream will cover both the semi-finals and final rounds of the competition.

Semi-finals will begin at 5:25 am EST, 10:25 am BST the link for which can be found here.

Finals will begin at 12:30 pm EST, 5:30 pm BST and can be found here.

Featured photo by British Climbing Cup.