The Rock Master Duel took place in Arco, Italy, on Saturday night with Mia Krampl from Slovenia and Jakob Schubert from Austria taking golds. Two climbers race up two identical routes side by side.

Schubert just beat Adam Ondra for the win. Ondra said after, “I had fun, Jakob was very strong and we had a great final. It took me a bit longer, but it was important to go under the minute and I did it.” In third was Jan Hojer.

Krampl beat Britain’s Molly Thompson Smith and said after, “What an Incredible year, it’s the first time for me here at the Duel and it was interesting to try something new.” Laura Rogora got third for the women and was fresh off winning the youth world championships for lead, boulder and combined.

Rock Master Winners

1987 Lynn Hill (USA) – Stefan Glowacz (GER)
1988 Lynn Hill (USA) – Stefan Glowacz (GER)
1989 Lynn Hill (USA) – Didier Raboutou (FRA)
1990 Lynn Hill (USA) – François Legrand (FRA)
1991 Isabelle Patissier (FRA) – Yuji Hirayama (JPN)
1992 Lynn Hill (USA) – Stefan Glowacz (GER)
1993 Susi Good (SUI) – Elie Chevieux (SUI)
1994 Robyn Erbesfield (USA) – François Legrand (FRA)
1995 Laurence Guyon (USA) – François Lombard (FRA)
1996 Katie Brown (USA) – François Lombard (FRA)
1997 Katie Brown (USA) – François Legrand (FRA)
1998 Liv Sansoz (FRA) – François Legrand (FRA)
1999 Muriel Sarkany (BEL) – Eugeny Ovtchinnikov (RUS)
2000 Muriel Sarkany (BEL) – Eugeny Ovtchinnikov (RUS)
2001 Muriel Sarkany (BEL), Martina Cufar (SLO) – Christian Bindhammer (GER), Tomas Mrazek (CZ), Yuji Hirayama (JPN)
2002 Sandrine Levet (FRA) – Alexandre Chabot (FRA)
2003 Angela Eiter (AUT) – Alexandre Chabot (FRA)
2004 Angela Eiter (AUT) – Alexandre Chabot (FRA)
2005 Angela Eiter (AUT) – Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2006 Sandrine Levet (FRA) – Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2007 Angela Eiter (AUT) – Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2008 Johanna Ernst (AUT) – Patxi Usobiaga (ESP)
2009 Angela Eiter (AUT) – Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2010 Kim Jain (JPN) – Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP) – IFSC CWC Pre-event
2011 Chereshneva Yana (RUS) – Adam Ondra (CZE)
2012 Angela Eiter (AUT) – Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2013 Mina Markovič (SLO) – Ramòn Julien Puigblanque (ESP)
2014 Magdalena Röck (AUT) – Sachi Amma (JPN)
2015 Hélène Janicot (FRA) – Adam Ondra (CZE)
2016 Janja Garnbret (SLO) – Adam Ondra (CZE)
2017 Julia Chanourdie (FRA) – Adam Ondra (CZE)
2018 Janja Garnbret (SLO) – Adam Ondra (CZE)
2019 Mia Krampl (SLO) – Jakob Schubert (AUT)

Report error or omission