Jain Kim at the Innsbruck World Championships, 2018. Photo courtesy of IFSC.

The IFSC World Championships are around the corner, taking place in Hachioji, Japan, August 11-21, 2019. It’s going to be another two weeks of exciting competition climbing in bouldering, lead and speed. Semi-finals and Finals of each discipline will be live-streamed. See schedule below.

Stakes are higher this year because, unlike any year before, in addition to vying for World Championship titles, many athletes will be climbing for a chance to compete in the first Olympics Selection Event – a combined format competition, held immediately after the Championships.

Results from each discipline of the Championships will be multiplied together to form an overall ranking and the top twenty athletes get to compete in the selection event. The top seven athletes at the combined event (maximum 2 athletes per nation) earn a spot to compete in the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo.

That said, not everyone is looking to compete in the Olympics. The World Championships are prestigious in and of themselves, wherein athletes get to test their skills against the best in the world and shine in their primary disciplines. Stay tuned for ‘who to watch for’ in each discipline. In the meantime, mark your calendars with the livestream schedule below.

Jakob Schubert at the Innsbruck World Championships, 2018. Photo courtesy of IFSC.

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

  • 9am (Monday 5pm PT, 8pm ET): Women Bouldering Semi-Finals [LIVE]
  • 12pm (Monday 8pm PT, 11pm ET): Men Bouldering Semi-Finals [LIVE]
  • 5pm (1am PT, 4am ET): Women Bouldering Finals [LIVE]
  • 8pm (4am PT, 7am ET): Men Bouldering Finals [LIVE]
  • Thursday, August 15, 2019

  • 11am (Wednesday 7pm PT, 10pm ET): Men & Women Lead Semi-Finals [LIVE]
  • 7pm (3am PT, 6am ET): Women Lead Final [LIVE]
  • 8pm (4am PT, 7am ET): Men Lead Final [LIVE]
  • Saturday, August 17, 2019

  • 5:30pm (1:30am PT, 4:30am ET): Women and Men Speed Finals [LIVE]
  • Tuesday, August 20, 2019

  • 4:30pm (12:30am PT, 3:30am ET): Women Speed Combined Final [LIVE]
  • 5:30pm (1:30am PT, 4:30am ET): Women Bouldering Combined Final [LIVE]
  • 8pm (4am PT, 7am ET): Women Lead Combined Final [LIVE]
  • Wednesday, August 21, 2019

  • 4:30pm (12:30am PT, 3:30am ET): Men Speed Combined Final [LIVE]
  • 5:30pm (1:30am PT, 4:30am ET): Men Bouldering Combined Final [LIVE]
  • 8pm (4am PT, 7am ET): Men Lead Combined Final [LIVE]
  • Fanny Gibert at the Innsbruck World Championships, 2018. Photo courtesy of IFSC.
    Kai Harada, Innsbruck World Championships, 2018. Photo courtesy of IFSC.

    Report error or omission

    Related