Home > Mountain

Lyman Spitzer Cutting Edge Award Winners

Lyman Spitzer, Jr. was a theoretical physicist, astronomer and as a mountaineer, he made the first ascent of Mount Thor, 1,675 m, with David Morton in 1965. Spitzer established the Cutting Edge Award with the American Alpine Club.

2014 winners

Allan Rousseau and Tino Villanueva will attempt the second ascent of 6,938-metre Tengi Ragi Tau in Nepal by its unclimbed west face, a 1,600-meter wall.

Kyle Dempster, Urban Novak, and Hayden Kennedy will attempt a new route up the right side of Gasherbrum IV’s Shining Wall.

Scott Adamson and Chris Wright will attempt the first ascent of the direct north pillar of Teng Kangpoche, 6,500 meters, Nepal.

Tim Dittmann, Seth Timpano, and Jared Vilhauer will try the first ascent of the 6,340-metre Barnaj II.

For more on the award see here.

Teng Kangpoche Source Trek Earth
Teng Kangpoche Source Trek Earth

Sources: American Alpine Club, Climbing Magazine