Home > International

Watch Piotr Schab on Thor’s Hammer 5.15

Piotr Schab made the 10th ascent of Thor’s Hammer at Flatanger this summer. The now-classic Norway 5.15a was first climbed by Adam Ondra in 2012.

Before Schab, Alex Megos, Jakob Schubert, Daniel Woods, Ethan Pringle, Dave Graham, Domen Skofic, Sachi Amma and Seb Bouin grabbed ascents.

Thor's Hammer 9a+ ✅🔥 A 60m climb makes you think a bit: "Will I finish it this time?" "How should I grade it?" "Damn, if it came so easily maybe it's just not that hard?" The real deal about the Thor's Hammer apart from the obvious technical, sporty factor was to shut all those distractors down, to concentrate on every single move and to keep going till the very end. Yesterday after 7 days of hard work I made it. Finished the one and only, Thor's hammer of the Flatanger cave. Constant hype and no negativity coming out of it were most likely the best that I gained during the whole process 🙌🏽 Thank you Wojtek for the greatest souvenir 📸 And Dziki, for a sacrificial belay 😂 @wojtekozakiewicz @dzikisereda @chrisfromthehouse @fiveten_official @wildcountry_official @sublimeclimbing #climbing #climbing_pictures_of_instagram #climb #climber #sport #sportclimbing #rock #rockclimbing #outdoors #me #love #life #happy #passion #motivation #escalada #escalade #arrampicata #klettern #photooftheday #climbing_is_my_passion #wspinaniepl #power #training #fun #hobby #instagram #iloooveit

A post shared by Piotrek Schab (@piotr_schab) on

Schab is from Cracow, Poland, and started climbing at a young age. As a teenager, he sent Era Vella 5.14d in Margalef, a Chris Sharma 2010 route.

In 2013, he became the first Pole to be invited to take part in the PROject Competition at the North Face Kalymnos Climbing festival.

Another breakthrough came in 2016 when in April he climbed Chris Sharma’s Papichulo 5.15a in Oliana. A few months later he made history by clipping the chains of Nuska in the Baltzola Cave and became the first Pole ever to onsight an 5.14b. The video below of Schab’s send is by Wojtek Kozakiewicz.